Creating a Google Meet Breakout Room Is Simple!

Without a student discussion room to debate an issue or a group task, teaching activities are incomplete. But what if students continue to learn online? Is it possible for students to create online discussion groups? What if you require a distinct small group discussion option for a meeting or webinar? Using Google Meet’s Breakout Room is the best option.

The demand for hybrid and remote learning is growing. Google met this demand by introducing a new feature to Google Meet called Breakout Rooms. What is the purpose of the Breakout Room feature? Let’s go over it again.

What is the Breakout Room feature?

Breakout Room is a feature in the Enterprise version of Google Workspace for Education that allows teachers to create virtual student study groups. Students can use the Breakout Room function in Google Meet to organize small groups to discuss while Google is still running.

Because this Breakout Session feature can only have one moderator, another participant can take his place if the moderator quits the Google Meet call room. Furthermore, this feature may only be utilized in video mode during a Google Meet session or class, and it cannot be recorded or broadcast live.

How to use Google Meet’s Breakout Room

This article will show you how to use Google Meet’s Breakout Room functionality.

If you’re a teacher or a moderator, this is the place to

  • In a video call, create a Breakout Room. Start a video call with Google Meet.
  • Click the Activity option in the top right corner, then the Breakout Room option.
  • Select the number of rooms or small groups you want to form in the Breakout Room panel.
  • Following that, each room will be automatically separated into a list or name of attendees.
  • You can manually relocate a participant’s name to a different room by clicking on the name of the desired participant. Hold down the mouse button and drag the name to another room selection or enter it manually.
  • If everything looks good, go ahead and click the Create button. Breakout Room can be edited, joined, or exited. Click Edit Breakout Room to change the number of breakout rooms or the number of attendees. Click Save after you’ve made your changes. To join the rooms, select the Join option from the drop-down menu next to each Breakout Room’s number. Click the Leave button next to the breakout room to exit all of the breakout rooms and return to the Main Room or main room. where did you last live?
  • The Breakout Room functionality of Google Meet is being phased away.
  • Click the End Breakout Room option in the Breakout Room panel’s top right corner.

Participants 

  1. Breakout Room 
  • Using a computer or a mobile device, log in to your Google account.
  • Participate in a Google Meet video call. (You will not be allowed to join the breakout area if you call from a cell phone.)
  • You’ll see a command on the screen when the call moderator invites you to join a breakout area. Join by clicking the Join button.
  • You can discuss or send chat messages to other participants once you’ve entered the breakout room.
  1. Return to Main Room or main room. 
  • On a computer, select Return to Main Room from the drop-down menu at the top.
  • To return to the main room on a mobile device, tap at the top.

The Breakout Room: How to Use It and What It Can Do for You

During the call room, the moderator can create breakout rooms to ensure that students do not leave the online class and that student participation and activity are maintained. Teachers or moderators can keep an eye on student participation in each small group they’ve formed and, if necessary, participate in student conversations.

This function can access up to 100 different rooms in a single video chat, allowing the moderator to determine how many rooms are required and Google to assign students to those rooms at random.

Do you wish to use the Breakout Room feature in Google Meet for your teaching, training, webinars, or meetings? Only Google Workspace, Essentials, Business Standard, Business Plus, Enterprise Essentials, Enterprise Standard, and Enterprise Plus accounts have this capability.